Programs & Events

Pony Express Love Letters, Briscoe Western Art Museum, San Antonio, Museum, Valentine, Valentine's Day

Pony Express Love Letters
Tuesday, January 31 – Sunday, February 12

Spread the Love! Visit during Museum hours and create a handwritten letter, compose a sonnet on our vintage typewriter, or fill in a Valentine’s Mad Lib for a loved one.  Members of the San Antonio Calligraphers' Guild will also be on hand to hand address your written masterpieces.

Modern day “Pony Express” riders (bicycle volunteers from SATX Social Ride) hand-deliver the letters on Tuesday, Feb 14 to all recipients in the downtown area. Letters outside the delivery area will be mailed on us with our special Pony Express stamp.

New this year: San Antonio Calligrapher's Guild will have their Winter Exhibit on display. All works are created on an envelope and have a Pony Express or western theme!

Free Admission to letter writing stations. Letter materials and delivery/postage are Free.

Check out Rogy Productions' award-winning 5 minute film on Pony Express Love Letters here. View our photo gallery below for pics from the 2016 program and Love Letters Delivery Day! 

Members of the San Antonio Calligraphers’ Guild are available to address your envelopes at these times:

Friday, February 3 | 11:00am-1:00pm
Saturday, February 4 | 12:00-4:00pm
Sunday, February 5 | 10:00am-5:00pm
Tuesday, February 7 | 12:00-3:00pm
Thursday, February 9 | 10:00am-3:00pm
Friday, February 10 | 2:00-5:00pm
Saturday, February 11 | 2:00-5:00pm
Sunday, February 12 | 2:00-5:00pm